Arrowhead-Asset-Management

P.O. Box 2049
Wimberley, TX 78676
Contact Us

Navigating Covid-19 Investor Sentiment

During tumultuous and scary times like these, it is my job to pay particular attention to investor sentiment levels. 

Extreme fear tends to mark stock market bottoms, just as the recent very high “market volatility” reading coincided with last week's stock market bottom.

However, last week we saw a typical rebound in U.S. stocks after a severe market decline. It was the "rubber band" effect. 

Losing one third of the entire market capitalization has generally resulted in a bear market rally, which is exactly what we saw last week: The Dow Jones climbed 20% over just three trading days - its biggest 3-day advance since the 1930s. 

While that may sound incredible, it was still a limited rebound that needs to be viewed with perspective - as it came on the heels of the biggest 5-6 week stock market decline in our lifetime.

In reality, the Dow Jones closed at 29500 on February 12th. Six weeks later the Dow Jones closed at 18,592, a jaw-dropping decline of 11,000 points. That's a loss of 37% of the market capitalization of 30 U.S. corporate conglomerates........ in 6 weeks!

Is it too much? Of course. More than one-third of the value of all U.S. stocks in 6 weeks? But, unfortunately, it's the way the stock market works.

When uncertainty is in the air, Wall Street takes a "sell first, ask questions later" mentality. It always overshoots to the downside, which is why extreme fear marks bottoms.

So should we rush in and buy stocks now on sale? Or will we get a better opportunity later to get back in at lower levels? I believe we will, yes.

Rarely do we see equities print "V-bottoms." The 4th quarter of 2018 was an example of a V-bottom, but they are very rare. 

I believe we'll see a retest of the recent market bottom, testing the earlier price lows on the key US indices. 

To be clear, I remain bullish longer-term. But I recognize how the stock market works when high uncertainty fills the air. 

We will be looking to take advantage of additional selling in the weeks ahead.

Rocky Boschert

Investment Updates and Financial Information for Investors

Useful investment, financial and applied economic information

Presented below are a few links of varying worth for your own financial edification or analysis.

Some of the websites are well known, others are somewhat obscure, but generally are well-written and informative.

We will regularly add to the links below as we find them, assuming they are deemed beneficial to our quest for intelligent information for our client readers.

Corporate:

Fidelity Investments: https://fundresearch.fidelity.com

Bloomberg: www.bloomberg.com

Yahoo Finance: www.finance.yahoo.com

CNN Money: www.money.cnn.com

Morningstar Research: www.Morningstar.com 

iShares ETFs: https://www.ishares.com

State Street SPDR ETFs: https://www.ssga.com/us/en/institutional/etfs/fund-finder

Invesco ETFs: https://www.invesco.com/us/financial-products/etfs

Fiscal Times: www.fiscaltimes.com  

Business Insider: www.businessinsider.com

24/7 Wall Street: https://247wallst.com

Alternative:

Fossil Free Funds: https://fossilfreefunds.org

Deforestation Free Funds: https://deforestationfreefunds.org

Weapons Free Funds: https://weaponfreefunds.org

Marijuana Biz Daily: https://mjbizdaily.com

SoberMoney: https://sobermoney.org

Angry Bear: https://www.angrybear.com

Wall Street on Parade: https://wallstreetonparade.com

Naked Capitalism: https://www.nakedcapitalism.com

Rigged Game: https://riggedgame.blog

Rosenberg Report: https://www.rosenbergresearch.com

Talk Markets: https://talkmarkets.com

Quantitative:

Stock Charts: https://stockcharts.com

Fear & Greed Index: https://money.cnn.com/data/fear-and-greed

US Debt Clock: https://usdebtclock.org

  

 

 

 

 

     

Financial Links

Fidelity

icom-logo

logo-igr

press-logo-depositaccounts

2zf3jlz

 cwlogo5c

0721-business-insider-logo full 600

cnnmoney

dollarsandsense

n220007811458 6322

CN Logo Main373x112

logo-consumerist-main